Around Three Mountain Ranges

The Montafon Hut Circuit in the Vorarlberg takes in three different mountain ranges at refreshing altitudes.

Flowering meadows in the Verwall, glaciers in the Silvretta, impressive rock formations in the Rätikon: hikers who walk the thirteen stages of the Montafon Hut Circuit (‘Montafoner Hüttenrunde’) in the Vorarlberg will experience a fresh landscape every day.

Walking to the Saarbrückerhütte
Walking to the Saarbrückerhütte
© Montafon Tourismus | Daniel Zangerl

The trail, which stops at ten different huts also tells of the history and present of the valley:

  • mining, which once played an important role around the Silbertal
  • water, to which the whole of Vorarlberg and neighbouring regions owe the supply of environmentally-friendly energy from hydropower
  • trails along the border with Switzerland, which were once very popular with smugglers

If you want to walk the whole 130km tour, you can start in the Silbertal in the Verwallgebirge. The final destination is Tschagguns in the Rätikon.

The stages can also be combined individually. The starting and finishing points are huts easily accessible from the valley resorts of the Montafon. Take a look at the Montafon overview on AustriaDirect for more details about the valley.

Most stages are of medium difficulty, although two stages are classed as difficult. The daily walking times range from one hour to ten hours.

More information: